Mainship Flybridge Electric BBQ Worthless

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Captain Ron D

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Seas the Moment
Vessel Make
Mainship 400
Has anyone replaced that worthless electric BBQ up on the fly bridge, with a propane one? I have done everything I can think of to clean connections etc. and it still takes
nearly an hour to cook a burger. Can't keep the grand-kids entertained that long ;-)

Before you tell me the cautions of propane BBQ's vs Electric, be advised I have been boating for 48 years and have had propane outdoor BBQ's on all prior boats without an issue. One does have to use precautions and make sure the take storage is vented to the outside and not the bilge!!!

Any experience yanking that 'Princess Gourmet' and sliding in a propane unit would be most appreciated. Fair Winds and Following Seas !!

Captain Ron D.

Do it! Life is too short:).

Greetings,
Mr. CRD. Just a thought....I DO know that there are some gas grills that are much better than others so might it be that some electric grills are better than the one you have? NOT trying to dissuade you, at all, from changing over but you do have the electric service already in place. Might it be simpler, quicker and easier to change over to a better (IF there is such a thing) unit?

My memory left my headspace, probably back in the 70's but I think I recall somebody singing the praises of the George Foreman electric grill. Possibly something to look into and perhaps some TF members could recommend a better electric replacement.

This is NOT a propane safety issue. Just a potentially easier solution...

giphy.webp

Last edited: