Jabsco electric toilet overfilling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nigelk

Hi all,
I have a 7 year old Jabsco electric head that is functioning fine. It has historically had a water level of around 15cm but lately when left in Port has risin to 3 inches below the rim. I believe this is the sea level. The bowl only slowly fills.
The boat has a holding tank but the head is rarely used and the valve is directed straight out.
Welcome some advice about how to sort this as it seems potentially hazardous.
Thanks everyone.
Kind regards
Nigel

Two possibilities:
1) The solonoid on the freshwater supply is leaking
2) the thru-hull between holding tank and "outside" is open and the tank (and then bowl) is backfilling with sea water.

Given your description, sounds like your system is reaching equilibrium in the second possibility.

-Chris

Thanks Chris,
We have a diverted that either directs flow from the toilet to the tank or directly out. It is currently directing flow straight out. Ichecjed the tank and it is empty.
I closed the seacock on the outlet and the toilet still overfilled in a couple of hours.
Guess this is pointing to a leaking solenoid. Any idea where I can source some information on how to service it?
Many thanks for your help and advice.
Regards
Nigel

Jabsco video on Youtube

Guess this is pointing to a leaking solenoid. Any idea where I can source some information on how to service it?

If you have a Quiet Flush this is probably what you're looking for. If it gets to 3" below the rim and stops, my guess is it's not the solenoid. The solenoid will usually keep leaking until the bowl overflows (unless of course, you turn of your water pump).

Last edited:
Thanks Chris,
We have a diverted that either directs flow from the toilet to the tank or directly out. It is currently directing flow straight out. Ichecjed the tank and it is empty.