I am having a problem with my fresh water system freshwater pump

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

motion30

Guru
I Have a Jabsco dual pump and accumulator system. I have been away from the boat for a while and when I first returned all was operating normal. Now I have very low flow and lots of air coming from the faucets. at first I thought I had a leak in the supply piping but can find none. Then I noticed while the pump is running it seems to be pushing air back into the fresh water tank and the hot water heater. Looking for suggestions where to start to diagnose the problem

I'd wager that you have something stuck in one of the check valves of the pump.
Diaphragm pumps rely on check valves to control the direction of flow in the system.
I have successfully cleaned them by carefully taking them apart and literally cleaning up any contaminates but it is usually easier to simply replace them.
The pump has a manual, usually these have a parts breakdown and you can identify the checkvalves there.
You might use this opportunity to check the water strainer that is/should be installed in the hose that supplies water from the tank to the pump. You might be surprised at what resides there...
Bruce

Sorry, but, I have to ask how is the water level in the tank?

Haven't had a problem yet (knock on head). A slow drip-leak was corrected by tightening a nut.

Last edited:
Could be sucking air from inlet side anywhere from the tank to the pump. Could also be a pin hole in the Diaphragm, my father said that is how I came into this world.

Check the suction filter for restriction, and look for any crushed or kinked supply hoses, and are you really sure the tank is 2/3 full? How do you determine that, with a sight gauge, mechanical or electrical gauge? Only a sight tube is totally reliable, other gauges can fail. Can you see into the tank?...

Greetings,
Mr. u.

giphy.gif