Old 09-22-2018, 03:30 PM   #1
Guru

City: Tacoma, WA & Ashland, OR
Vessel Name: boatless, ex: Seeadler
Vessel Model: RAWSON 41
Head Banger-Peggie are you listening?

Given the number of santation discussions here, I've come to think of this as the "Potty Forum". But it is now my turn:

I have a pair of ancient Jabsco 37010 electric toilets, the aft one seems to work work just fine, at least it has since I snaked several decades worth of marine life out of the raw water intake line.

The forward one has been cranky for a year or more, and I picked up an overhaul kit in Seward, figuring I'd get to it after the Great Alaska Adventure ended. Well, the pump motor packed it in about a month ago--that's why we have two heads, no?

I'm in Tacoma now, waiting for the wife to come pick me up and out of excuses. Yesterday I dismounted the pump assembly and decided, since I needed a new motor, I may as well replace the whole thing. Drove up to Marine San and $240 later went to work.

Pretty basic install, once you replace the crappy screws that come with the thing.

Functional check produces pump noise and water as expected, EXCEPT: too much water. Sea water pumps in faster than out, quickly reaching a precarious level.

The seacock is at the forward end of my engine space, which is roomy enough, but awkward to enter. So I close the cock, crawl out, run the bowl dry, then experiment with several partial settings on the seacock, nearly balancing the in/out. I figure another half-dozen trips will get it just right.

But here's the punchline: the old pump and the aft one operated just fine with full in-flow. What' the fix? Things under consideration:

1. Insert a valve in the intake line near the toilet and fine-tune the flow in comfort.
2. ...valve in the line which returns some of bowl content to the rim.