Old 04-15-2014, 01:58 PM   #1

City: Florida
Vessel Name: Lady Di
Vessel Model: 2012 Beneteau Swift Trawler 44
Fresh Water Hoses Single Crimp?

Hello,

I'm new to all of this stuff but learning as fast as I can!

Is it customary to use only a single crimped ring on the fresh water fittings and connections?

While I do see double worm-gear hose clamps around the fresh water pump the branch lines down stream have only a single crimp. I have found 4 small leaks so far.

Of course, if one of these fittings fails with the water pump energized I could find all of my fresh water in my bilge or above!

Seems to me to be a mistake in design or application. The boat is still under warranty.
Old 04-15-2014, 02:12 PM   #2
Guru

City: North Charleston, SC
If the water from your tanks leaks into the bilge, the bilge pumps should pump most of it out. An inconvenience but not a sinking.

If you are connected to city water, the boat could sink as there is an unlimited supply of water.

What do you mean by a "single crimp"? One hose clamp or something else?

One clamp isn't a problem but it shouldn't be leaking especially on a new boat.
rwidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 02:17 PM   #3

I haven't tested my (automatic) bilge pump yet, but I intend to do so soon.
The branch lines are tightened to the nylon fittings with a single crimped band, not the adjustable worm-gear style. These bands must be installed with a special tool.
Old 04-15-2014, 02:24 PM   #4
Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by rclarke246 View Post
I haven't tested my (automatic) bilge pump yet, but I intend to do so soon.
The branch lines are tightened to the nylon fittings with a single crimped band, not the adjustable worm-gear style. These bands must be installed with a special tool.