Old 02-24-2019, 12:06 AM   #1

City: Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Vessel Name: Capricorn
Vessel Model: Mariner 29 - Express Cruiser 1969
Engine heat when running, diesel heat when not

So I'm a bit of a newbie to heating in a boat. I am going through a repower to either a Merc 300 HP gas I/O or 350 HP I/O and in the process I discovered the engine can provide in cabin heat (Thank you Jesus). I was in the process of having my refit guy instal a diesel heater to my gas boat, with its own smaller tank. Is there any way I can use heat off the engine, then when at anchor I can use the diesel heater basically using some common units of the system, rather than two complete seperate systems.

rsn48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 04:25 AM   #2
Guru

City: Narragansett Bay
Vessel Model: Grand Banks 36
Called Bus Heaters. Will work while your engine is running. Similar to your car.

https://shop.hamiltonmarine.com/depa...s-|HT|BHR.html

Cigatoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 04:42 AM   #3
Guru

City: Carefree, Arizona
Vessel Name: sunchaser V
Vessel Model: DeFever 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsn48 View Post
Is there any way I can use heat off the engine, then when at anchor I can use the diesel heater basically using some common units of the system, rather than two complete seperate systems.
Yes there is an easy way. My setup with a Hurricane II is identical to what you want to do. Put a heat exchanger into a valved coolant loop off the engine with the diesel heater loop on the other side of the heat exchanger. The valves would be open when you're cruising and off when you're at anchor or the dock.

A decent heater install guy should know all about this setup.
sunchaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 06:04 AM   #4
FF
Guru

You can power a "bus heater" easily as well a power a hot water heater that has a coil inside .

The only cautions are to power both in parallel , from the engine , to the device , then back to the engine.