Old 03-23-2017, 07:57 AM   #1

City: Azle
Wifi/ Internet

I recently purchased my trawler and work online mostly. I'm not sure what really works out there for Marine capabilities and such for either? My marina that I am in now has horrible wifi and was curious is this the case of most marinas and Wifi?

1. Do these wifi range finders really work? Like Shakespeare, Alfa WiFi and such? I've seem as low as 50 to 399 and all have promises, but no real reviews. If not could you recommend some?

2. Looking to not break the bank.

3. For now I'm inland in a lake , but once I master this baby, I intend on getting her coastal. Do the ICW and follow the coast. I'm new at this so my options are open.

4 looking to not break the bank, but I need a decent connection.

Any ideas and help would be appreciated..

No-regrets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 08:04 AM   #2
Guru

City: Gloucester, MA
If you do a search there are lots of threads on this subject, with lots of good products.

That said, it's been my experience that with only a few exceptions, marina wifi is poor to completely unusable. When my cellular internet works better, which it almost always does, the wifi has a serious problem. I'd say it's at best 1 out of every 10 marinas where I find the wifi usable.

Historically a lot of people judge marinas based on the conditions of the bathrooms and the laundry. To me, the number one criteria aside from being a place to dock, is the quality of available internet service.

Old 03-23-2017, 08:20 AM   #3
Guru

City: North Charleston, SC
I use the marina WiFi when it works and a Verizon hot spot when it doesn't. Verizon isn't the cheapest but it has the best coverage.

If you are working on-line, you are going to want something reliable and you may want something secure. Marina WiFi is not secure.
rwidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 08:43 AM   #4
Guru

City: Litchfield, Ct/Punta Gorda, Fl
Vessel Model: Atlas Pompano 23