Old 11-13-2014, 08:50 PM   #1

City: Port Orchard, WA
Resale value

Planning on purchasing trawler in the 40' range in the $50,000-$100,000 price range. Then live aboard for 2-5 years with 2 people. (Or longer?) The boat would obviously be an older boat, hopefully depreciated substantially. Realizing there are many variables, could I realistically expect to be able to sell it for nearly what I paid for it? Perhaps maintaining an equity position with 10-20% down?

Live in the Seattle area. Thoughts?
Jda55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 08:57 PM   #2
McK

City: Victoria
Check out the Island Gypsy 36'...good price. Overpowered but priced well. Its in Seattle.
I'm new at this, so I'd get as much info on the boat from members as you can possible get.
McK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 09:20 PM   #3

Didn't see it listed on yachtworld. Where can I find info?
Old 11-13-2014, 09:54 PM   #4

City: Merced CA
Vessel Name: none
Vessel Model: pipe dream
in my humble opinion, the depreciation you suffer will be very dependent upon the upkeep and improvement costs you invest. Most probably, any depreciation will pale in comparison to the costs you choose to incur in maintenance and improvements. Personally, I would not worry about depreciation provided that you purchase a brand that you can readily resell. Think about the holding costs. Good luck!
Old 11-13-2014, 10:27 PM   #5
Guru

City: Port Townsend and La Paz
Vessel Name: Domino and Libra
Vessel Model: Malcom Tennant 20M and Noordzee Kotter 52