Old 10-04-2013, 09:23 PM   #1
TF Site Team

City: California Delta
Vessel Name: FlyWright
Vessel Model: 1977 Marshall Californian 34 LRC
Writing Your Boat's Operations Manual

The following quote is from this post on the Owners Manual thread. Rather than sidetrack that discussion, I started this new one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Northern Spy View Post
It is a recommended guideline from ABYC T-24 (first edition in 1992) to have an owners manual for the boat. Newer boats and higher quality boats will typically have them.

I've been writing one for my boat, mainly for piece of mind if I loan, swap, or charter my boat in the future. Well, actually, because I am a tech manual geek, and it is fun to write.

NS, I'm in the middle of doing the same thing. I've got manuals for most of the components and electronics, but, until now, general system knowledge is not documented anywhere. With this manual, an experienced boater should be able to operate the boat systems. It will also include helpful facts for system maintenance. The individual component manuals provided by the manufacturer will be included in pockets within the Ops Manual binder. PDF versions of these manuals where available will be included in the digital version.

I've got roughs written for main chapters. I gave mine some thought and decided to go with chapters similar to an airplane manual, but generally arranged from bow to stern for easier reference. For example, the Bow section includes the windlass info, but the RW washdown system on the bow and stern is located in the plumbing section.

I'm curious how others have arranged their manuals. Here is how mine is set up:

Operations and Systems Manual

Specifications and Capacities
General
Propulsion
Perkins 4.236 Engines
Borg Warner CR-2 Transmissions
Fuel System
Props, Shafts and PSS Dripless Shaft Logs
Bow
Lewmar 1000 Windlass
Head
Helms and Electronics
Windshield Wiper
Steering Pumps
Garmin 128
Garmin 276C Chartplotter
Raytheon SL70 Radar