Old 01-14-2018, 09:42 PM   #1

City: Lutz
Trawers VS Sailboats

I'm new to the Trawler World --having had cruising sailboats since 1971. Been looking for a Trawler for a few months The lack of ongoing maintenance on the used Trawlers I have seen so far is amazing. Admittedly they are all for sale but but but but . Sailboats are -on average- kept in far better condition than Taiwanese Trawlers. Of the six boats I have looked at none of them had ever had their bilge areas singularly cleaned (scrubbed) -all smelled of course. Don't know why this lack is so.
geoleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 09:59 PM   #2
Guru

City: Carefree, Arizona
Vessel Name: sunchaser V
Vessel Model: DeFever 48 (sold)
What size, age and price range are you viewing?
sunchaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 10:03 PM   #3

answer

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunchaser View Post
what size, age and price range are you viewing?
1978-1989 20-55k 32-42ft
Old 01-14-2018, 10:20 PM   #4
TF Site Team

City: California Delta
Vessel Name: FlyWright
Vessel Model: 1977 Marshall Californian 34 LRC
Maybe you're looking at the wrong boats. The good ones are out there.

@DeltaBridges - 25 Delta Bridges in 25 Days
FlyWright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 10:31 PM   #5
Guru

City: Fort Lauderdale. Florida, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoleo View Post
1978-1989 20-55k 32-42ft
Keep in mind that comparing a $50k trawler to a $50k sailboat is a bit unfair. The trawler is going to be older and in poorer condition.
BandB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 10:31 PM   #6
TF Site Team

City: Brisbane
Vessel Name: Insequent
Vessel Model: Ocean Alexander 50 Mk I