Where should we register our boat? FL? GA? SC? NC?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
https://www.delreg.com/yadv.cfm

This is intended to give you enough to ask google all of the right questions. I have no knowledge of the company in the link. Never done business with them. Don't know anything about them.

Delaware is worth a look.

I read some threads here that mentioned ease of clearing between Canada and the US due to place of registration. Might be worth a look too.

Last edited:
https://www.delreg.com/yadv.cfm

This is intended to give you enough to ask google all of the right questions. I have no knowledge of the company in the link. Never done business with them. Don't know anything about them.

Delaware is worth a look.

Good link. However, Delaware ownership of a boat does not relieve one from an obligation to register it in other states.

If you take your Delaware registered boat to a state with sales tax for any time longer than that states maximum days, they will likely come after you for the tax. I know Michigan does. If you can’t show that you paid sales tax and you have your boat in Michigan they will hit you up for the tax. I think the best way is just to bite the bullet and pay sales tax somewhere.

The name is on the stern of the boat .. not your butt. “Home Port” is where the boat resides. Has nothing to do w where the owner or owners reside. IMO

The name is on the stern of the boat .. not your butt. “Home Port” is where the boat resides. Has nothing to do w where the owner or owners reside. IMO

Home Port, as in the documentation, has nothing to do with where the boat resides either. It's just a place you selected.

Home Port, as in the documentation, has nothing to do with where the boat resides either. It's just a place you selected.

+1. Absolutely. Read the CG website as to where you can home port, basically anywhere you want.