Old 08-18-2016, 06:22 PM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Brandon, MS
Vessel Model: 1986 Sea Ray Seville, 18.5'
What hp??

So looking at options of engines and what i want in a boat and notice its all about HP? I dont think I am wrong but isn't a boat basically going "up hill" all the time, so under a constant load. Now since a trawler is not a planing boat and goes slow and is a big heavy pig why would anyone care how fast it's engine can do work? I would think they would be more interested in how much work it can do as in how much torque does it produce, but this does not seem to be the focus. What am i missing?

Warwgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2016, 06:32 PM   #2
Guru

City: Gig Harbor
Vessel Name: Kinship
Vessel Model: North Pacific 43
I'm not an expert. I'm not even a well informed amateur. In general, I think you are right.

There are normally two type of hull designs in the "trawler" world. Full displacement hulls and semi-displacement hulls. For a full displacement hull, you actually need very little HP to push the boat at hull speed, or a convenient fraction of hull speed. There are rules of thumb that folks here can recite from memory that can give you and idea of how much hp that actually is. So in theory, that is all you need. A couple caveats to that.

-You don't want to have your engine putting out max hp all the time. That will shorten engine life.
- We don't always operate our vessels in flat water and no wind. Both of those can cause you to need more hp to maintain your speed.

For semi-displacement hulls like mine, it is little different. If you push the boat hard enough, you can run at a speed greater than hull speed but at a significant cost in fuel and noise. Many boat manufacturers, such as mine and others, have been putting in engines in SD hulls that I think are simply overkill. I have 380hp in my boat which is way more than I really need as I only ever run my boat at displacement speeds.