Old 12-23-2017, 06:59 PM   #1

City: Viola
WeGoLook.com, anyone have comments

I am a total novice and would like to hire someone to make an initial look at a used trawler, not a survey, that's later. The We Go Look site says they will give it an inspection for about $100. Just wonder how legit they are. Thanks.

oakbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2017, 07:13 PM   #2
Guru

City: Palm Coast
Vessel Name: Southerly
Vessel Model: 1986 Marine Trader 36' Sundeck
Umm, I was a novice too looking at big boats. Once I found what I liked, I hired a surveyor. I am very handy though. Take a friend along until you find what you like. Then hire the real deal. In my opinion, you’re just throwing money away for a companion without benefits.

Welcome aboard and happy hunting!

Donna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2017, 07:18 PM   #3

Thanks Donna, I too am very handy and am learning more about larger boats everyday but have never piloted a larger boat with all that that entails. I am not on the coast right now, still waiting on my house to sell. I can't really go run and look at every possibility and so was looking at my options.
Old 12-23-2017, 07:20 PM   #4
Guru

City: Gloucester, MA
Is the issue that you and the boat are in different locations and you don't want to travel? Or are you looking for someone with more knowledge than you to help evaluate boats?

You will find lots of discussions and opinions on brokers, but this is where a good buyer's broker can and should earn their keep. That doesn't mean all actually do, but it's at least the theory....

Personally I would only want someone I know to evaluate on my behalf. So a friend or broker, but always preferably myself.
Old 12-23-2017, 07:23 PM   #5
Guru

City: Sydney
Wow a survey for $100 would be worth $5 and end up costing $1000"S
gaston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2017, 07:31 PM   #6