Old 07-12-2016, 11:34 AM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Anacortes
Vessel Model: Glacier Bay 2770
I have owned 6 boats, I swear this will be my last one!

I have been boating and dreaming about cruising for almost 30 years now. My wife and I, started with a 24’ Maxxum that was great for weekend camping & kept behind our floating home in Seattle (the dock where they filmed “Sleepless in Seattle”). We loved living on the water! I dreamt of cruising to distant places with warm water, once we could afford the time and money. My wife humored me and I dragged her along on many boat shopping expeditions as well as charters and courses. Along the way, we bought and sold a 40’ Schucker motorsailor and these past 4 years had a partnership in a 2004 Mainship 400T. Both of these boats where located in Florida and we cruised much of the ICW and the Bahamas with both of them. We also had a 28 foot sedan cruiser in the San Juan Islands and cruised Puget Sound and beautiful British Columbia. & occasionally we were fortunate enough to join our good friends Larry and Lena as they traveled the world in a KK42. We just sold our Mainship 400T as our partners no longer had time for boating. We still own an 18’ Key West center console we towed behind the Mainship that is stored at a friend’s house near Jacksonville, Florida.
We have learned a lot from these experiences, which includes that boating takes a significant effort at times because of weather and maintenance. But the plus side is wintering in some beautiful locations, living on the water, and enjoying the social aspects of being part of a community. It does have some drawbacks from my wife’s perspective, not the least of which is third class accommodations at first class prices!
We live in the San Juan Islands, but we prefer to “winter” in sunny places. I still dream of cruising, so I keep looking for the right combination of location and boat that will make us both happy. We can afford a boat in the $250,000 range.