Old 07-28-2019, 12:45 PM   #1

City: Texas
Black iron fuel tanks

Hello, I am looking at mid 1980 Taiwan built trawlers. Some have black iron diesel fuel tanks. I have no background knowledge about these type of fuel tanks. I would appreciate any comments concerning their reliability and what can be done if they develop problems (i.e. aside from finding a leak is there a way to inspect them, can they be repaired or must they be replaced, for a typical mid 1980 Taiwan trawler is repair/replace as big an undertaking as it would appear?). I realize that that there are many factors to consider for any particular boat, and that answers to board questions will be generalizations. But any information I learn will be helpful. Thanks in advance.
mike44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2019, 01:21 PM   #2
Guru

City: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike44 View Post
Hello, I am looking at mid 1980 Taiwan built trawlers. Some have black iron diesel fuel tanks. I have no background knowledge about these type of fuel tanks. I would appreciate any comments concerning their reliability and what can be done if they develop problems (i.e. aside from finding a leak is there a way to inspect them, can they be repaired or must they be replaced, for a typical mid 1980 Taiwan trawler is repair/replace as big an undertaking as it would appear?). I realize that that there are many factors to consider for any particular boat, and that answers to board questions will be generalizations. But any information I learn will be helpful. Thanks in advance.
There are two types of Taiwan trawlers, those that have had their fuel tanks replaced and those that need them replaced.

These tanks are NOT "black iron, they are mild steel. "Black iron" is a catchy name that some have glommed on to but is completely inaccurate.

Check out this article on Taiwan trawlers. http://onboardislandtime.com/venerab...e_trawlers.pdf
boatpoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2019, 01:57 PM   #3