Old 03-18-2019, 09:50 PM   #1
Guru

City: Seattle
Vessel Name: AZZURRA
Vessel Model: Ocean Alexander 54
Ventusky/predict wind/ Windy

I have been using Predict Wind for a few years. I have also been using Windy. My neighbor just recommended Ventusky. While the $2.99 price is no big deal it sure is more than free for Windy or Predict Wind. I would like some one elseís opinion before I add another unnecessary app to my iPad.

tiltrider1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 05:07 AM   #2
Guru

City: Narragansett Bay
Vessel Model: Grand Banks 36
I have Ventusky. Seems as accurate.......or not as the rest and is very reliable. (Never down) Uses several different weather models. You can choose the model you want to look at or combine. Has a nice real-time radar function. Clean and well thought out software.

Cigatoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 05:17 AM   #3
Guru

City: AICW
Vessel Name: Freedom
Vessel Model: Albin 40
Most of those apps just use the same modeling as each other... so one really isn't "better" than another..just prettier other a few more features.

There are a few NOAA programs Desi go need for specific areas like the Chesapeake and NY bight areas that are different, but not sure what other area.

If using an app for a specific I temp such as wind, find out what the source of data is before paying for something that is usually free.
psneeld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 05:55 AM   #4
Guru

City: Narragansett Bay
Vessel Model: Grand Banks 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by psneeld View Post
Most of those apps just use the same modeling as each other... so one really isn't "better" than another..just prettier other a few more features.

There are a few NOAA programs Desi go need for specific areas like the Chesapeake and NY bight areas that are different, but not sure what other area.

If using an app for a specific I temp such as wind, find out what the source of data is before paying for something that is usually free.