Old 01-06-2018, 08:35 PM   #1

City: St. Clair Shores, MI
Vessel Name: Solvogn
Vessel Model: Grand Banks 32
Lake Superior

Hi Everybody! We just bought our first trawler, a GB32, on Western Lake Superior. This June we plan to go over to Mackinaw City, starting at Bayfield WI. Thereafter we will cruise the Ontario North Channel and then go south to Detroit. Having never cruised Lake Superior, I have had a good look at the charts and Google Earth to scope out the south shore. The main stopping places are obvious: Houghton, Marquette, Munising, Grand Marais, etc. It looks pretty barren, not a lot of little inlets and bays. If you have been on this stretch, I really would appreciate tips about little nooks we can get into, either to tie up or anchor. I have had a lot of experience doing this, but not on Superior. Assuming that the lake is quiet or that the breeze is from the south, are there any places that are particularly good for pulling in close to the shore and anchoring? Perry
grandbanksbayfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 09:36 PM   #2
Guru

City: Sea of Cortez, Mexico
Vessel Name: Irene
Vessel Model: Nordhavn 40II
Hi Perry,

Just around Whitefish Point, near Paradice, MI, is a neat place to drop the hook in the right weather. The bay can be like bath water sometimes. You will be able to see across the bay to Ontario.

Will you be starting at the west end of the North Channel and coming out the east side? It would be fantastic to do the whole thing. We have only been from Spanish through Killarney. You will have a great trip!
Old 01-07-2018, 09:19 AM   #3

Thanks Irene

Hi Irene,