Old 08-15-2019, 03:28 PM   #1

City: Key Largo
Type of Trawler for Caribbean?

Hey Guys...
Forgive my ignorance and I hope I am phrasing my question correctly. I have a lot of experience in running fishing boats offshore (I was an offshore Captain for years in the upper Keys) but I have no experience in live aboard trawlers except for performing engine work on a few.
Anyway...my wife and I have been pondering our decision of investing in a trawler designed for ocean crossings. We are now thinking of keeping our house in Key Largo and buying a trawler that would allow us to spend a few months in the Bahamas and maybe hoping islands all the way to the Caribbean. Anyway....would these "coastal trawlers" be suited for that type of cruising?
Thanks guys
homeby5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 04:05 PM   #2
Guru

City: Saint Petersburg
Vessel Name: Weebles
Vessel Model: 1970 Willard 36 Trawler
My wife and I will be retiring in about a year to head cruising. We moved our Willard 36 Sedan/Trawler boat from San Francisco to Ensenada MX, south of San Diego, last year for a major refit. Eventually, we will end up in Florida where we have a slip behind our condo. Weather in Florida is similar to Caribbean. We have owned the boat for 20-years, and decided to refit her versus buy a replacement for several reasons. Given boats are a personal item, I can only speak to our reasoning - I'm sure you'll get many, many responses.

1. Size. 36-feet will fit in our slip in Florida. Perfect would be a 40-42 foot boat.
2. Stabilized. Weebles has original equipment Vosper hydraulic stabilizers. Personally, I consider stabilization required equipment for long passages (our trip from San Francisco to Ensenada last year was 75-hours non-stop)