Old 09-06-2018, 09:58 AM   #1

City: Poway, CA
Trawlers in the San Diego area

Hello, I am new to the forum and new to trawlers. For the last couple of years, I have been thinking about purchasing a "cost effective" trawler to have as a weekend getaway. I live inland (Poway) but I spend a lot of time at the beach (Mission Beach). So it seemed like a perfect way to have somewhere to hang out on the weekends. The more I have researched trawlers, the more I am intrigued by the boating lifestyle. I have been boating all my life on smaller fishing boats (although I get sea sick).

I am planning on semi-retiring in 3-5 years. The more I research, the more fun a little nicer boat sounds (below $100k). I have been paddleboarding around the docks of San Diego bay and Mission Bay looking at different boats. Trying to see what I like and don't like. Being a novice, I don't recognize makes/models yet, although I am getting better.

Anyhow......my questions is, are there any San Diego area trawler owners here that would be willing to show me around their boats? Maybe sit down over a beer or two and give advice (I will gladly supply beverages). Help me figure out what to look for. Just general stuff.

Theoretically if I were to purchase right now I would say ~$50k-75k budget, 36'-42', fiberglass hull, I like open deck space, mainly day cruise and Catalina as I got more confidence. I love Baja and at some point (if I get over my sea sickness) the Sea of Cortez would be amazing!

Thanks for your help!

PD Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2018, 12:41 PM   #2
TF Site Team

City: California Delta and SF Bay
Vessel Name: FlyWright
Vessel Model: Marshall Californian 34 LRC
Welcome aboard, PDM!

One of our members just put their 34 LRC Californian (LOA 36+) up for sale right there in San Diego for under $50K. Maybe you could get together with the owner to see the boat, buy him lunch and learn a little.

Here's the thread of his classified listing here on TF.