Old 09-16-2017, 04:00 PM   #61
Guru

City: Hotel, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seevee View Post
To each his own... if you go down there, we'll be concerned for you.

Spoiler Alert

He lives "down there"

It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they've been fooled - Mark Twain
CPseudonym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 04:03 PM   #62

City: Houston
I have a lot of experience in many parts of Mexico and Central America from both coasts to San Miguel de Allende, Leon, etc. I'm reasonably conversational in Spanish.

We can all argue about the likelihood of experiencing specific violence at home or abroad. I'd say that realistically, if you're paying attention, you're still safe in most Mexican coastal towns...especially the touristy areas. Mexico City for sure. Same for St Louis or L.A....you stay out of the rough areas. (Duh.).

But most people would agree that post-El Chapa, things are less stable in Mexico and even Cabo is having problems with the cartels now. PV is - unfortunately - part of a turf war although that doesn't make it particularly dangerous for Americans. Getting caught in a firefight? Highly unlikely. Getting your boat broken into? More likely and far more likely on the Caribbean side. That's not necessarily drug related crime but it's a problem.

In terms of personal safety, the difference in the US vs Mexico (or China or Uruguay) is not so much about comparing violence statistics as it is about what happens if you do get into trouble.
For example, if you get robbed while visiting Detroit you can pretty easily get home, you will be treated fairly by the police, you can feel confident that you'll be ok.
If you're hurt, you will get treated and you are in your own country so there's minimal fear at that point.
In a foreign country its more problematic (read: scary). And the authorities are not always going to be supportive and helpful.
If you don't speak the language, all the more disconcerting.