Tips for Newbies

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PlanB

Hi Everyone,
As I mentioned in my intro I'm new to the trawler world and am here to learn. I'm wondering what tips you seasoned folks have to share with newbies. I'm interested in tips about anything related to boating that you think will be helpful. Things like, "if I had only know such-and-such when I first started boating" type thing. I've already found one thing that has been really helpful. I got Navionics and have discovered the automatic route option. You select a starting location and a destination and it calculates the best route. It even highlights precautions on the route like for shallow water and bridges and other hazardous things. I LOVE it!
Thanks in advance for any help!

Attachments

• Route.jpg
    Route.jpg
    151.6 KB · Views: 73
Hi Everyone,
As I mentioned in my intro I'm new to the trawler world and am here to learn. I'm wondering what tips you seasoned folks have to share with newbies. I'm interested in tips about anything related to boating that you think will be helpful. Things like, "if I had only know such-and-such when I first started boating" type thing. I've already found one thing that has been really helpful. I got Navionics and have discovered the automatic route option. You select a starting location and a destination and it calculates the best route. It even highlights precautions on the route like for shallow water and bridges and other hazardous things. I LOVE it!
Thanks in advance for any help!

Hi

Ditto here. You rightly pointed that out. Navionics auto routing is amazing, very easy, handy & convenient. In dual with marine chart plotter just in case.

P.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    203.3 KB · Views: 69
Last edited: