Old 05-19-2017, 10:01 AM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Southampton / Los Angeles
Thoughts on widebody boats

Greetings!

I am a student studying yacht design and production. One of my interests is in trawler yacht design so I thought it could be useful to poke my head in here to learn more about trawler yachts and the interesting community of people who own them.

I am interested to hear people's thoughts on widebody boats (boats that have a wide saloon that replaces one or both of the side decks). While I was doing some browsing on the internet, I found many companies such as Kadey-Krogen and Nordhavn offer some boats only in widebody configurations.

Does anyone have experience operating a widebody trawler? I personally think the upsides of having a full walkaround boat outweigh the space you gain by absorbing the side deck into the saloon however I am quite interested to hear opposing viewpoints!

Looking forward to learning something new!
theTopsail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 10:09 AM   #2
Guru

City: Concrete Washington State
Vessel Name: Willy
Vessel Model: Willard Nomad 30'
I have a tug body and would like a widebody.

North Western Washington State USA
Nomad Willy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 10:11 AM   #3
Guru

City: Boston Area
I liked Benneteau's approach of puttin the cabin off center so one side deck is wide and the other isn't.
Benthic2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 10:21 AM   #4
Enigma

City: Slicker?
Greetings,
Welcome aboard. I like you already. You use the proper term for the main cabin ie: saloon. Due to the type of boating we do (lockages etc.) a walk around type trawler is most suitable for us. As a result, when boat shopping in the past, we've immediately discounted the wide bodied style.
Old 05-19-2017, 10:23 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus

City: SEWARD ALASKA
Vessel Name: DOS PECES
Vessel Model: BAYLINER 4788