Old 06-03-2013, 04:00 PM   #1

City: newfoundland
Vessel Name: E.E.S.
Vessel Model: 38' Northumberland
My first trawler..I hope!!.

Hi All,

I would appreciate your input with a problem I’m going to be facing very soon, I have finally found, what I believe to be my perfect trawler, I intend to view it A.S.A.P. it will be my first large boat, the price is at the top limit of my budget and here starts the problems.

The trawler is located in NC USA, that means I will have approx 1650nm run to get her home to Newfoundland, transport by road is out of the question cost wise, and although I’m studying navigation as hard as I can, the thought of sailing her home alone gives me the screaming nightmares, I’m not foolhardy enough to attempt the journey alone, I don’t have a clue if a 30ft steel trawler tug can make a coastal passage… Oh boy I thought this would really be an exciting time but it’s turning into a whole heap of uncertainty!!!.

So how can I cruise her home?, hiring a captain could be very expensive couldn’t it?, I was thinking of asking a fishing boat skipper from NL to come with me, but what are the chances of finding someone who’s travelled up the East coast before?.

I started out really excited at the thought of owning my own boat, perfect as she is for my needs, I even stuck with what I consider to be the best advise any new buyer can have, and that came from TF, “don’t buy the biggest boat you can afford, buy the smallest that suits your needs”, but now I’m faced with the possibility that buying her will stretch my retirement budget too far due to those unforeseen extras and the logistics of just the trip home!!.

Does anyone have a rough idea of what sort of overheads I can expect to encounter when buying in the US, i.e. sales tax, any registration fees etc, and any suggestions on getting her home would be very welcome.

Here’s some specs, I estimate about 40 hrs cruise time between re-tanking that’s allowing 20% fuel reserve.

Length 30ft
Beam 10.5 ft