Surveyors & Mechanics in Ketchikan, AK

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Britannia

Wannabe
Vessel Name
Stillwater
Vessel Make
Kadey-Krogen 54
Hi,

Does anyone have any recommendations? All the surveyors the broker is finding are commercial. Does anyone know a surveyor that regularly handles fiberglass trawlers in Ketchikan? I'd also welcome any recommendations for mechanics who would do surveys on diesel engines and generators.

The boat is a Krogen 54 Pilothouse

Thanks

Richard

Ketchikan has one of the best with impeccable record. Dave Johnson.
I have his email address on my other computer and will make note to gather this and his phone #.

He is a marine master mechanic by profession working with a local sizable tugboat operations. Amak Towing and Revillia Towing. He has been surveying as a side line profession for the past five years.

I know him personally, I would vouch for his reputation. If you are a seller you do not want to employ Dave. If you are a buyer he is the one you will want to employ, He knows his beans and is a member of the professional marine surveyors assn.
Your engine concern is with him a done deal.
Stand by Richard.

Al- Ketchikan (Bridge to Nowhere) Alaska

Al,

Thanks - it's great that you give such a good reference for Dave. His info was given to me by the broker as a possibility. It sounded like he was a commercial surveyor - apparently doesn't have a moisture meter. Not sure how much surveying of fiberglass hulls he does. The Krogen 54 has an entirely foam cored hull - so I want to make sure the surveyor feels comfortable checking it.

I was going to call Dave to talk about the job anyway - and now you have recommended him so highly I will certainly contact him. No need for his phone number - I have it.

Has he surveyed anything for you?

Thanks

Richard

Hi Richard,
sent a PM to your attention
Al

surveyor