Stern thruster, yes or no

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DaleP

As I'm new to this: I'm thinking of a 36' trawler. Do I need a stern thruster? I know I want a bow thruster. Right now I will be single handing. Please give me your thoughts and why. Also I want a single engine.

Last edited:
As I'm new to this: I'm thinking of a 36' trawler. Do I need a stern thruster? I know I want a bow thruster. Right now I will be single handing. Please give me your thoughts and why. Also I want a single engine.

Dale, as an owner of a similar sized boat, single engined boat, with no thrusters, I could say they are unnecessary, (with practice), but in your case, if you are going to be single-handing her quite often, and you can afford the extra, I'd say go for the both, but bow thruster as a minimum.
Bye the way, I took the liberty of correcting your 'deliberate mistake' in the thread title. :D

Start with a bow thruster.

Bet you find out that it may be enough.

If not..... adding stern thruster is much less of a fuss.

But a bow thruster will be night and day without one. Not saying they are necessary...but they can make some situations much easier.

Start with a bow thruster.

Bet you find out that it may be enough.

If not..... adding stern thruster is much less of a fuss.

But a bow thruster will be night and day without one. Not saying they are necessary...but they can make some situations much easier.

X2, I added only a bow thruster and don't find a need for a stern thruster. A big rudder and a little power moves the stern quite nicely without one. If you have "lots" of money then, yes, it could prove to be useful at times but I suggest trying it without first as others have said.

nop... just practice a whole day and you're gonna catch the trick... and keep 4K on your pocket.. ;)