Old 10-18-2015, 11:16 AM   #1
Guru

Stabilization Systems - The options

Well so much for the "simple" boat concept. Now that we sold the second house our journey to get back on the water is one step closer and the discussion is a little more serious. Despite my best efforts to keep the next boat simple and lower cost, I loosing the battle quickly as the first mate starts to make her short list a little more pronounced.

This brings me the discussion of stabilization on a semi-displacement hull trawler in the 40' range. While I'm familiar with two of the three options (manual paravanes and Active Fin Stabilizers (Trac, Wesmar, Niad)), I have no experience with Gyro (seakeeper) systems. What I have read is interesting and I can see their progress especially on smaller boats. I'm curious if anyone has real time experience with their system and would be willing share either here on the forum or off line? I can be reached at N4061@yahoo.com.

From a basic approach I like the idea of not having "fins" on a semi-displacement boat which create drag while we cruise at around 7-10 knots. Our personal experience the past 20 years is that we didn't need stabilizers about 50% of time we were on the water, thus a self-contained gyro system (downside is it requires a generator operating) which can be turned off is appealing. Thanks

John T.

N4061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2015, 01:04 PM   #2
Guru

City: Sarasota/Ft. Lauderdale
I can't speak to gyros on smaller boats but my friends who run a bit larger boats with gyros like them. You get stabilization underway, at anchor or at the dock.

Yes they take a time to spool up. And they need AC power to work.

The problem with them on a smaller boat is they take up space.

But you do get full time stabilization.

Capt.Bill11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2015, 01:22 PM   #3
Guru

City: Maryland
Vessel Model: 42' Sportfish