Old 11-14-2014, 06:17 AM   #1
Guru

City: Solomons Island Md
Vessel Name: Fryedaze
Vessel Model: MC 42 (Overseas Co) Monk 42
School of hard knocks

I am new to this cruising game and on a regular basis I learn a new lesson in the school of hard knock. Wednesday we were cruising north on the Alligator River Pungo canal. We had just passed under the Fairfield Bridge. About 2miles up the canal were three sailboats in a line heading south. As they closed at about ¾ of a mile the 2nd sailboat decides to pass the first. The sailboat that was being overtaken didn’t slow and the passing boat gave them a wide berth. This forced me to slow to idle and move over as far as I could. Well I probably hit a stump while I was pushed out of the channel. The woman driving the sailboat was oblivious as she chatted with her mates and gave the other sailboat much more room than it needed. I now have a vibration in my starboard gear train and can actually see a small vibration in the stern tube at 1600 rpm. Boat speed isn’t affected. Best case I bent a prop. Worst case my shaft is bent.
Lesson learned, I will never be that accommodating again. I will hail other boats immediately when these situations occur.
fryedaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 06:28 AM   #2

City: Jupiter, FL
Vessel Name: SALTY
Vessel Model: FAIRCHILD SCOUT 30
Sorry to hear this. I have had similar experiences, only once with a prop getting nicked. I have learned to use the horn early and insistently.
Billyfeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 06:33 AM   #3
Guru

City: North Charleston, SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by fryedaze View Post