Old 03-05-2018, 11:12 AM   #1

City: Grenchen
Vessel Name: Seawitch lll
Vessel Model: Cheoy Lee 48
Sea Ranger 52 Cockpit

hi there,
I am new in this forum. Thank you that your administrator allowed me to join.
I am a Swiss Resident, and I am seriously considering to buy a Trawler as a Liveaboard. Would love to do the Great Loop with an adaquate boat. I just came across a beautiful (great layout) Sea Ranger built 1986 with Twin TAMD70E.
Question:
- can anyone out there tell me about his/her experience with this Brand?
- maybe someone owns one and can brief me?
- could anyone tell me whether the replacement of the engines is feasible and would it make sense?.
I do not need the boat to plane, so these two engines seem to me by far too big and uneconomical, burning between 12 and 19 gal/hr. I have seen Sea Rangers of 52 with Twin Lehmann 135hp.
thanks folks for your posts, Christoph
seawitchone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 11:55 AM   #2
Guru

City: Carefree, Arizona
Vessel Name: sunchaser V
Vessel Model: DeFever 48 (sold)
At 7.5 to 8 knots there would be little difference in fuel burn between the two brands of engines. A thorough hull and mechanical investigation prior to survey will yield the answers you're looking for regarding "how good is this boat?" A 30+ year old vessel is a crap shoot when on line viewing.

Brokers Mark Grace and Yacht Broker Guy on this site would be a good sources of information regarding boat brands, what is out there and condition prior to looking at something that could turn out to be unacceptable. In other words a buyer's broker may be worth eventually considering. Be careful who you choose though if you go this route.
sunchaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 12:18 PM   #3

and by the Way - I am also looking at a DF 44 :-)
Old 03-05-2018, 12:21 PM   #4
Enigma

City: Slicker?
Greetings,
Welcome aboard.
Old 03-05-2018, 02:17 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus

City: Au Gres, MI
Vessel Name: Black Dog