Old 01-23-2016, 11:04 AM   #1

City: Anacortes
Vessel Name: Therapy
Vessel Model: Transpac Eagle 32
Send a message via AIM to Therapy
Rudder Modifications

I am new to owning a trawler and to this forum, I have a 32 transpac eagle, my boat does not turn very sharp mainly around the docks, the previous installed a stern thruster that works great when the wind isn't blowing. I recently pulled the boat to have some work done, and I am contemplating adding material to the rudder, to make it longer and increase the angle, this seems like an inexpensive approach and should not add much drag. Have any of you tried this? from what I have read trawlers have an unbalanced rudder with 20% ahead of the pivot point and 80% behind it, in my mind if I can maintain something close to this I should be fine. Can you offer any advice.

Therapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 11:14 AM   #2
Enigma

City: Slicker?
Greetings,
Welcome aboard.

Old 01-23-2016, 11:20 AM   #3
Guru

City: Sarasota/Ft. Lauderdale
Learn to goose the throttle.
Capt.Bill11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 11:29 AM   #4
Guru

City: Melbourne, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Therapy View Post
I am new to owning a trawler and to this forum, I have a 32 transpac eagle, my boat does not turn very sharp mainly around the docks, the previous installed a stern thruster that works great when the wind isn't blowing. I recently pulled the boat to have some work done, and I am contemplating adding material to the rudder, to make it longer and increase the angle, this seems like an inexpensive approach and should not add much drag. Have any of you tried this? from what I have read trawlers have an unbalanced rudder with 20% ahead of the pivot point and 80% behind it, in my mind if I can maintain something close to this I should be fine. Can you offer any advice.
It's not an unbalanced rudder if it has 80/20 split over the rudder post.

An unbalanced rudder would have 100% behind the rudder post.