Old 09-14-2018, 05:36 PM   #1

City: Louisville
Requesting tips on purchasing a loop boat

Hello-Please forgive me in advance but since I am new to this I have some amateur questions. I am starting my search for a loop boat. I actually had a contract on a 42 foot boat but there were a number of issues which prompted me to walk away from the deal. Here are a few of my concerns:
1) Is it customary to be offered to go on a test ride when you are looking (before making an offer) at it?
2) What is your experience in how a Monk handles in comparison to other 36 foot trawlers?
Thank you!

Kentucky Mule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 06:01 PM   #2
Guru

City: ACIW
Vessel Name: Freedom
Vessel Model: Albin 40
Have you joined the Great Loop Association?

May get additional if not better info...even though some here have done it and are worthy to listen to.

psneeld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 06:08 PM   #3
Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kentucky Mule View Post
1) Is it customary to be offered to go on a test ride when you are looking (before making an offer) at it?
2) What is your experience in how a Monk handles in comparison to other 36 foot trawlers?
Thank you!
1) No that is not customary. I would give a tour and "possibly" start the engine at the dock, but maybe not.
2) No personal experience but a friend owned one and did the loop and said it was great. They have an excellent reputation.
Mystic,Ct. /New Port Richey,Fl
jleonard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 06:24 PM   #4
Guru

City: Fort Myers, FL... Summers in Crisfield, MD
Vessel Name: Slow Hand
Vessel Model: Cherubini Independence 45
While it's certainly not customary to take a ride on a boat before making an offer, it never hurts to ask. If you find a boat make / model that you like, see if one of the charter companies has one you can rent.