Old 03-20-2018, 07:00 PM   #1

City: Baltimore
Replacing Window Glass

Hello,
I am new to trawlers and this forum. I just purchased a 1984 Golden Star 38' sundeck trawler and l am looking forward to restoring her. I am hoping someone has a few tips on removing the exterior teak window trim and stainless window channels to repair a broken window. The trim is approximately 1 3/4" wide and fully adhered to the exterior fiberglass of the salon. After hours of slicing, scraping, and using a multitool I have managed to remove 3 of the 4 pcs. (after removing screws of course). Is there any special tools, solvents, or tricks to this extremely tedious process. Any help is appreciated!
Pete of EYC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 04:52 AM   #2
Guru

City: Jupiter, Florida
Vessel Name: Black Eyed Susan
Vessel Model: Grand Banks 42' Classic
Some pictures would most likely help in getting some responses. Many have been through the same thing but hard to know exactly what you are dealing with without seeing what you are dealing with. Welcome to TF!
firstbase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 06:22 AM   #3
FF
Guru

"tricks to this extremely tedious process. Any help is appreciated!"

Time is your friend , a chisel just tapped into a tight goop line will lift the item in a few hours.

There are also "debonding" fluids for where someone used glue (like 5200) instead of a sealant.
FF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 10:26 AM   #4
Guru

City: Trenton
Piano wire.
alormaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 10:35 AM   #5
Guru

City: Jupiter, Florida
Vessel Name: Black Eyed Susan
Vessel Model: Grand Banks 42' Classic
Quote:
Originally Posted by alormaria View Post
Piano wire.
Or a guitar string. High "E". Cheap.
firstbase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 10:44 AM   #6

City: marina del rey
Vessel Model: Goldenstar sportfisher
Wish I could help, but my 1985 38" GoldenStar does not have exterior window trim.