Old 05-08-2016, 06:15 PM   #1

City: San Pedro, CA
Vessel Name: Boatless
Vessel Model: Dreamer
Chasing Teak Deck Leaks

Ok...

Let's chase teak deck leaks...

The playing field... a well kept and clean 1985 Fu Hwa "Golden Star" sedan trawler - with the oversize flybridge.

Having only had the vessel for a few months I am still learning about the boat. In general terms - it is in very good condition... but it does have a "soft spot" in at least one spot on the flybridge (near the ladder).

Recent observations in the lazarette imply that water is getting into the cockpit deck.

So this exercise will be to stop as many of these obvious leaks until a longer term solution (and core repairs) can be implemented - and that could be forever - a non-leaking teak deck is good enough for me.

To start - lets look to the obvious... pretty big gaps in the calk between the boards up on the foredeck...

Thankfully the previous owner provided quality tools to use in clearing out the old failed caulk - that will be a big help.

More to follow on the repairs...
Attached Thumbnails
2016-05-08 07.06.19.jpg   2016-05-08 07.06.53.jpg  
CarlinLA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 06:30 PM   #2
Guru

City: Fort Myers, FL... Summers in the Great Lakes
Vessel Name: Slow Hand
Vessel Model: Cherubini Independence 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlinLA View Post
Ok...

Let's chase teak deck leaks...

Thankfully the previous owner provided quality tools to use in clearing out the old failed caulk - that will be a big help.
My preferred tool for teak.

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0880.jpg
Views:	356
Size:	161.6 KB
ID:	51719

Ted
"Slow Hand" by The Pointer Sisters
O C Diver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 06:31 PM   #3

City: Baytown, Texas
Vessel Name: Islander
Vessel Model: Prairie 36
I'll be following along as I have the same thing going on. lol.

Kevin
tallswede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 06:39 PM   #4
Guru

City: Everett Wa