Old 05-24-2018, 01:12 PM   #1
Guru

City: Seaford Va on Poquoson River, VA
Vessel Name: Old Glory
Vessel Model: 1970 Egg Harbor 37 extended salon model
Re-configuring my wash down setup at bow

I have a Jabsco 120vac rubber impeller utility pump, 118100003
https://www.amazon.com/Jabsco-11810-.../dp/B000O8DAVY

It came with the boat. I had to majorly repair and rebuild it as the motor shaft rusted to the impeller and it had to be torched off. The rear seal had failed, so a perfectly good impeller I had to destroy. I got a new entriely rubber coated seal from the bearing supply house, much better design than OEM and even changed the metal spring to a rubber o'ring, so no more leak, and no more corrosion.

But it works fine again. This time I used Rectorseal T plus 2 on the shaft to keep away any water.

It sucks up raw water from a through hull, then I split the output front and rear.
My rear hose is 3/4" or 5/8" standard garden hose.
But the front hose which runs through the bilge up to the bow, I used a 1/2 inch garden hose. It is perhaps 40 feet long and I don't like the volume and pressure up there at the bow. So I am going to change to a 3/4 " garden hose which will take me hours to remove the old hose and put in the bigger hose.

Do you think it will improve the water flow using the bigger diameter hose?
How much PSI does this pump create?

I went with a Globe run dry impeller on the rebuild.
sdowney717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 01:35 PM   #2
TF Site Team

City: California Delta
Vessel Name: FlyWright
Vessel Model: 1977 Marshall Californian 34 LRC
Try connecting the same length of 3/4 inch hose to the pump, run the hose temporarily thru the boat to the bow and see the results. If the run and rise are comparable to the final installation, the results should be similar.

I'd recommend a proper reinforced hose in place of a garden hose for marine use below deck.

@DeltaBridges - 25 Delta Bridges in 25 Days
FlyWright is offline   Reply With Quote