Raw Water Flush

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cardude01

Guru
Vessel Name
Bijou
Vessel Make
2008 Island Packet PY/SP
This seems like a good idea-- is it?

On every outboard I've owned I always flushed it with freshwater after running it in salt water. Does it not make sense to do the same on my Yanmar?

http://youtu.be/YdqVulR5STo

Last edited:
:popcorn:
I'd like to know, myself. Seems intuitive that getting salt out of most any mechanical system wouldn't hurt.

Greetings,
Mr. 01. I can't see any downside other than the time and effort required to do it. It could prolong the life of your heat exchanger/coolers but by how much, I haven't a clue.

I've been doing this for several years now. I can flush the engine and generator in less than 30 minutes. I would much rather have the coolers sitting in a bath of freshwater when the boat was idle than saltwater. The consensus on boat diesel.com is that flushing provides a substantial benefit in a saltwater environment.

As I understand - it reduces the buildup within the coolers/heat exchangers. This increases the time between R&R of those devices. Just the man-hours to get to all 8 (I have twin Yanmars) is ridiculous. Especially frustrating are those mounted on the sides against the hull. Nearly inaccessible - especially servicing anything on my port side motor. So I added a fresh water flush as part of the repairs/servicing when I purchased her.

Frequently recommended if you are on the Boat Diesel website.

Any problem with the way the guy in the video had it rigged up? I kind of wonder about that valve on the top of the sea strainer. Is that mounted in plastic?

Any problem with the way the guy in the video had it rigged up? I kind of wonder about that valve on the top of the sea strainer. Is that mounted in plastic?