Questions about Switching From Sail to Power

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Montenido

Vessel Name
Ansedonia
Vessel Make
Californian/Carver 52CPMY
Hi folks,

I am a newbie to this forum, and currently own a 44' CC sailboat. My wife has made it pretty clear that she would like to ditch the sails and move over to the "dark side", LOL. I have a few questions for those of you who made the switch from sailboat to MY or trawler.

First, how does the MY ride at anchor? Do most of you employ flopper-stoppers, or something similar? Although sailboats certainly rock at anchor, I also have 12K pounds hanging 6' underwater, which counteracts a lot of the rocking.

Second, how do your boats do in heavy weather, or when the waves are coming from the beam?

For those of you with single motors, don't you ever worry about losing power while in a scary situation like a lee shore, etc.?

I am considering something in the 38-45' range, and I am looking for comfort and quality of build. I plan to use it much the same as I use my sailboat, which is coastal cruising in the Sea of Cortez and SoCal area.

Any and all advice and input is welcomed. Thanks in advance.

Cheers, Bill

Greetings,
Welcome aboard. There are no questions. Your wife seems to be the smart one in the family. ("...ditch the sails...")
hhh.gif

Welcome Bill. I'll bet more than half the members on this forum are former sailors who had the same conversation with their wives, myself included ;-).

So, on to your questions:

Trawlers roll more than sailboats at anchor. Semi displacement hulls with their hard chines do better than full displacement hulls but still roll. I have never seen a flopper stopper on either a power or sail boat at an anchorage, well maybe once or twice.