Old 07-12-2015, 09:50 AM   #1

Possible Employment

I am looking for a job in the marine industry in the Boston area. Have every little experience in the industry, however, I did grow up around boats in Minnesota and I have plenty of experience in manual work, administrative, and service. I am a 25 year old grad student, graduating in May. Would love any direction or advice anyone has to offer.

Thanks,

Dean.

dtigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 11:05 AM   #2
Guru

City: gulf coast
grad student, really??? The boat industry is a genteel way to go broke.. Now if you had an oceanography degree Woods Hole Institute might be a possibility.

Thee are some remaining ship builders in the area including Electric Boat in Groton CT.

bayview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 12:39 PM   #3

Possible Employment

Ha! That's what I've heard! But, what can I say, I love the sea and I want to make it my life. Unfortunately my degree is not in oceanography...thanks for the advice though! I've been handing out resumes left and right at different dealerships and docks around the Boston area hoping to get a position where I can grown my knowledge in general. It's been a challenge so far though.
Old 07-12-2015, 12:54 PM   #4
Guru

City: South FL
Vessel Name: Oliver
Vessel Model: Nordhavn 47 Hull# 12
Good luck. You'll need it.
Nordhavn 47 Hull #12
N4712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 01:12 PM   #5
Guru

City: Fort Lauderdale
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtigga View Post
I am looking for a job in the marine industry in the Boston area. Have every little experience in the industry, however, I did grow up around boats in Minnesota and I have plenty of experience in manual work, administrative, and service. I am a 25 year old grad student, graduating in May. Would love any direction or advice anyone has to offer.

Thanks,

Dean.
Why? What? What is it you see yourself doing in the industry? What are your degrees going to be in?