Old 05-31-2016, 10:04 PM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Shelter Bay
Vessel Name: Little Missy
Vessel Model: CHB
Portland to Friday harbor

Hello Newbie here!
I'm looking at purchasing a 1976 34 foot CHB in Portland and I need to get it to Friday Harbor. We have been out of the boating world for about 13 years and moved to Friday Harbor about 1 year ago. I have found a CHB in Portland that I am very interested in but getting it here is a little intimidating for a few reasons. Not knowing the boat and setting out on a open ocean adventure scares me a bit, as well as lack of experience in the blue water!
I was thinking of perhaps hiring a captain to lead me along the way. I thought this would give me a opportunity to get to know the boat and get my feet wet so to speak!!!!
Can anyone offer any ideas or perhaps a patient captain!
Island15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 10:09 PM   #2
TF Site Team

City: Saltspring Island
Vessel Name: Retreat
Vessel Model: C&L 44
Buy it FOB Friday Harbour?
koliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 10:37 PM   #3

City: West Vancouver
Vessel Name: Ka Hale Kai
Vessel Model: 52' Cheoy Lee
Experience is one challenge that can be addressed with a captain - as you note.

A new boat and not knowing the current and possible mechanical gremlins could the game changer for me.

Or get it trucked?
nmuir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 10:39 PM   #4

City: Clear Lake Shores,Tx
Vessel Name: In Disguise
Vessel Model: 1985 Mainship 40 DC
I can recommend an excellent/patient/teaching Captain located in Longview, Wa. He runs from Cape Disappointment up to the Straights of Juan De Fuca quite often, and in fact is up there now. Pvt me and I'll give you his contact info., or have him contact you. He is a licensed Captain for anything from Commercial Tugs to Passenger liners.
wyoboater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 10:57 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Thanks for the quick responses.