Port of Brunswick closed

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
You'd think that they would just be able to roll it upright (still sitting on the bottom) and then put pontoons or lift casings on both sides to lift it high enough to move somewhere to scrap it.

I wonder if the choice to cut it up there was based on local environmental risk liability. What I mean by that was that every salvage has risk, but where it is probably has a lot to do with punitive damages if the salvage goes bad. I can envision a number of places in the USA where failure would be treated more sympathetically. As an observer, it seems that they should be able to right it, but I guess no insurance company wants an environmental cleanup liability like the Exxon Valdez.

Ted

No. It was just stated that the engineers and other experts don’t see a way to do it intact. Now I am no expert in these things, but I could never see a way to re-float a ship that size in 25 feet of water.

On the other hand, we are all very unclear as to how they avoid an environmental mess going this route. There are literally tens of thousands of sources of pollutants on this ship. 4,200 cars. Each has a small amount of gas. Engine oil. HVAC coolant. Windshield washer fluid. Batteries. Etc.

Then there is the ship itself with all of its systems.

Having said that, there appears to be a very concerted effort by all involved to avoid this scenario. Who knows. Perhaps they are working on a way to disassemble in some fashion other than cutting into 9 pieces we have seen with other Ro Ro ships. All I do know is that we will get to watch since she is only a few hundred yards from shore.

I'm wondering if they're going to cut in layers somehow, removing cars along the way, and use the cutting to make the removal of the cars easier. I know nothing about this business so purely speculative questions.