Old 04-23-2019, 10:31 PM   #1
Guru

City: Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Vessel Name: Capricorn
Vessel Model: Mariner 30 - Sedan Cruiser 1969
Question Photography especially while boating

I'm a bit of a photographer, have been all my life, an amateur. I won't go into how many "systems" I've had over the years and seen the revolution in technique and gear changing the photo world. Needless to say, drone photography is especially popular amongst cruisers who want those unique aerial views. My current system are Fuji and Canon, with multiple lenses and cameras of each.

So I'm curious how others approach photography when boating. Is stabilization an issue when under way. Great haunts you love to shoot, great animals you like to pictorially capture?

I suspect there are a number of us in this community. What's your experience?
rsn48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2019, 11:42 PM   #2
Guru

City: Kitimat, North Coast BC
Vessel Name: Badger
Vessel Model: 30' Sundowner Tug
Hi there!

I’m dipping my toes into the digital pond in a fairly serious way these days.

I picked up a Fujifilm X-E1 for a family snapshot camera after they first came out because of its basic, simple controls and because the viewfinder showed what the aperture and shutter dials do to the image in real time. No chimping “to see if it came out”.

When the X-T2 came out I nabbed one of those. What a relief to have the ISO, aperture, and shutter dials all on the camera! Brilliant! Just like ‘real’ cameras had back in the olden days!!

I find the image stabilization works pretty good on the boat, but still have to use the lens focal length/slowest safest handheld shutter speed rule if the water is lumpy.

Have plans on using the X-T2 pretty much like I used to use a 4X5, that is to say, on a tripod and stitching several frames together to generate large enough files. Really enjoy the hand held animal stuff as well, but at the bottom of the learning curve on that stuff.