Old 09-29-2018, 10:21 PM   #1

City: nyc
owners of 1980s Chien Hwa senator sundeck?

hi, i recently saw a 35' Chien Hwa senator sundeck and consider to offer a price. the overall condition looks well maintained. Because im new to marine stuff, i want to ask owners of Taiwanese trawlers for advice as to what to pay attention to and where to check.

the boat has some cracked window glass. the anchor windlass is manual. where can i get a price quote for glass replacement and power windlass installation?

thanks in advance.

paulga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 01:21 PM   #2

City: Chicago/Montrose Harbor
Vessel Name: Sea Jay
Vessel Model: Non Trawler ;-) Ask me if it matters LOL
There are a lot of people that will chime in on this. There are probably more costly hidden issues you might wish to uncover versus these. Look at condition of fuel tanks with potential corrosion issues and pay to have a surveyor to really look into water intrusion in the decking as well as around the windows. A surveyor will also be able to suggest a facility to repair the windows as well as install a new one. The windlass itself is cheap- itís the install and electrical work that is going to triple the cost.....so if you arenít planning on anchoring immediately, I think you have other expenses that will rear their ugly heads sooner. Do they have a list of already completed work to assist in this?

Gmarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 01:35 PM   #3
Guru

City: Au Gres, MI
Vessel Name: Never Say Never
Vessel Model: President 41 DC