Next Nodestination

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nodestination

Vessel Name
No Destination
Vessel Make
1972 GulfStar Trawler 36
Or should I change the name since the original burn up and sunk?. I am planning to get 38 feet Bayliner 1986 with twin 130hp Chrysler engines. Just wonder of how much fuel they are going to burn. I am a slow driver with max 6knots. Any idea?. I know thta Byliner have "bad name", but they supposed to increase quality in 32 and above. I will go this Saturday to look at.

Don't be afraid of the Bayliners. They can give you great value.

The 38's I've been aboard "felt" much larger. Am sure it's psychological but they seem to utilize the available space as well as if not better than anything else out there. Fuel burn should not be much if any worse than your last diesel boat if you remain a 6 knot driver. Back it down to 5 and it'll likely be the same.

My gasser got horrible mileage but that's what happens above 20 knots :)

Best of luck to you recovering from your recent misfortune my friend. How about Any Destination for the new home?

I may name No Destination, but will look for a marina that require for every boat to have at least basic insurance. I will get full this time and stay away from gas boats. The boat that I am looking at is on west coast of Florida. I am on east ( green cove springs). It would be 10 days trip with friends. Is about time for me to go on a trip. Last 3 years I spend in marina working on a boats.

The biggest challenge you'll have with the Bayliner 38 is parts availability for the Mitsu or Nissan engines. Otherwise, they are robust vessels that offer excellent value and room.

If possible, look for the Hino engines.