Old 02-07-2015, 01:52 AM   #1

City: Seattle
Vessel Model: 34' CHB Trawler
New stove time! Help!

Soon I'll be replacing the 4-burner propane stove/oven in my 77 CHB 34' Tri-Cabin. While a refurbishing and paint-job would get a few more years outta the old "harvest gold" model, truth is I really want a nice new stainless number in there. Why not?! So I'll ask all of you, what make and models are you happy with lately? I'm a pretty serious cook, and I want to do good work in my galley! Also who in the Seattle area does good install work?

Thanks!

BallardPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 06:47 AM   #2
FF
Guru

The SSCA has a web site , that can be visited and there is a NEW SS Force 10 range for sale.

New its $1300 , he wants $850.

A marine range (or hob) should have different operating valves than a house unit.

It should turn on FULL, and rotate to a lower ,,but adjustable setting.

This is so you can adjust the flame high enough to not be blown out.

There should be a pilot valve to shut off the oven or broiler , should it blow out.

I prefer to wire the solenoid valve with a 2 hour timer , and an ON light.

A kid playing , an unknowing guest . or a forgetful owner get a free save.

IF you are doing a total galley rebuild installing the range against a bulkhead,, a hot pot has a 50?50 chance of going left or right.

Mounted outboard the odds become 50% scalding the hull and 50% scalding the cook.

The odds might be better with a gimboled range on weather the cook is cooked.

FF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 06:57 AM   #3
TF Site Team

City: Brisbane
Vessel Name: Lotus
Vessel Model: Clipper (CHB) 34 Sedan/Europa style
Send a message via Skype™ to Peter B