New Shower Trick

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

R lucky

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Fortunate Sun
Vessel Make
42' Grand Banks M/Y
Hi All,

My shower has learned a new trick and it's no fun :(

I have an '82 GB and the water temperature that comes out of the shower head pulsates back and forth between scalding hot and cold water.

I have three sinks (two heads and the galley) and this problem does not exist anywhere but the shower. I have a Jabsco Par-Max Plus water pump, but it seems to be above reproach given that this only happens in the shower.

Where do I start?

THANKS!

Greetings,
Mr. Rl. "Where do I start?" Stop taking showers.

200.webp

Nice

I don't mind being dirty, but being single is another matter...

Maybe a washer is loose and blocking the flow to one side??? Not an expert on plumbing for sure but I would take the faucet apart and look for something loose inside.

Thank you

Thanks Comodave. That sounds like a reasonable possibility and I'll give it a shot.

Lucky

Does the pulsating follow the on-and-off of the water pump. In other words, does it become scalding when the bump runs and cold when the accumulator is driving it between cycles?

I'm wondering about hot water expansion in the system or a bad accumulator or air trapped in the tank resulting in a higher hot water pressure than cold water pressure at certain times in the cycle? Does it go away or get better if a sink is left running hot water slowly?

Also, what about a leak letting air in near the shower and air daming the showers mixer or anti scale valve and then flushing out to accumulate again?

Or...as others have said a bad shower faucet or one with debris flapping around? Simpler failure mode, maybe.

-Greg

Last edited:
Hi Greg,