New member and what kind of animal is it?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Whistledoc

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Annie
Vessel Make
Homemade 53
download.spark
download.spark
*This is Ron AKA whistledoc in Florence Alabama.I am new to the forum as of today I am a retired physician from Texas. Built Annie myself *in Texas via the WEST system*from scratch over a 16 year period. She is a* modification of a Benford designed*45' Friday Harbor Ferry. Kept changing as I built here and ended up being 53 feet. Retired a few year back and decided to take off and *explore the inland rivers. Took off on Annie along the Gulf Coast. My wife had an elderly mother and couldn't go with me so I was by myself most of the trip. Went to Mobile and locked up the Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway to the Tennessee. When I hit the Tennessee River I headed upriver and went a few hundred miles up stream.... turned around and headed down with plans of spending Christmas in Nashville. Ended up stopping in Florence Alabama and fell in love with the geography and the river. Called my wife and she came up and spent a week on the boat.. On a lark we decided to look at real estate. Ended up buying ssome dirt and built a house and after 15 trailer loads of farm equipment, woodworking equipment 13 miniature donkeys and other junk we ended up moving to Florence. Just came back from a 1200 mile round trip up the Cumberland River in Tennessee*from Florencee. For those not familiar with river geography we went down the Tennessee to the "Land Between the Lakes" which is a peninsula of land between the Cumberland and the Tennessee where they run almost parallel. Crossed over from Kentucky Lake above the Kentucky Dam on the Tennessee to Lake Barkley above Barkley Dam on* the Cumberland. Traveled the Cumberland as far a Celina which is the limits of navigation. Beyond Celina the river is not maintained and there