Old 05-23-2017, 12:03 AM   #1

City: fort lauderdale
new to me 44 gulfstar

Hey guys I'm gonna be the new owner of a 44' gulfstar Motor cruiser/trawler powered by twin perkins 135hp mains and an isuzu generator. I'm familiar with the Lazzara design boats since I work on yachts for a living.

the boat has tons of mechanical space to do work and plenty of storage, which I'm happy about coming from a 42' uniflite with cumming 300's.

Anyways I was crawling around this soon to be boat and on the outboard side of the port engine I saw coolant in the bilge. what could cause this? seams to be no leaks around that area. coolant looks clean. one last thing are these perkins know to leak oil from head gaskets and such because both these bad boys seam leaky and only have 4k hours. also input on the gen set would be great.

Cheers, Ashton
slowNsteady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2017, 06:39 AM   #2

City: New Tazewell
Vessel Name: Saoirse
Vessel Model: 1983 Nauticat 44 Ketch
Congrats. It would be worthwhile to clean, rinse and dry all bilges, and place new absorbent pads under all engines, hoses and joints. Run and pump everything, and inspect the pads for drips.
Did you get a mechanical survey?
Did you get a topsides survey? One gotcha from my motor-sailor purchase was the discovery too late that all of my rigging needed replacement. Major ouch.
Acheron2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2017, 07:06 AM   #3
Guru

City: Satsuma FL
Vessel Name: No Mo Trawla
Vessel Model: Hurricane SS188
Welcome!

We had a single engine Perkins 135 on a Taiwanese Tub and had a similar incident after I had the marina change the anti freeze. Best I could tell, they overfilled it or spilled some and didn't clean it up. IIRC, this was done during winter storage before spring launch. The problem didn't reoccur.
Old 05-23-2017, 09:09 AM   #4

City: fort lauderdale
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acheron2010 View Post