Need Safe Recommendations

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BDofMSP

Guru
Vessel Name
Gopher Broke
Vessel Make
Silverton 410 Sport Bridge
As recently posted elsewhere, I'm scheduled for powerboat training at Anacortes Yacht Charters June 13 - 15. After that we are on our own for four nights in the San Juan Islands on a 29' Ranger Tug. To broaden our experience we really would like to spend a night on the hook and a night on a mooring ball. The other nights will be at a marina. It will all be covered in the training, but while I have experience anchoring out on lakes and rivers, I have zero experience with tides or changing sea conditions, and I've never picked up a mooring.

So assuming that weather forecasts allow, I would appreciate your recommendations for safe and easy places for a novice to anchor and to pick up a mooring. We have not established any cruising agenda for the area yet, so we're open to suggestions (although we are not planning to enter Canada this time). Also any insight on how busy these areas might be or suggested arrival times would help a lot.

Thank you very much for your help.
BD