Old 07-26-2018, 03:57 AM   #21
Hospitality Officer

City: Pittwater
Vessel Name: Sarawana
Vessel Model: IG 36 Quad Cabin
Why not use an AGM battery? I have had mine in for 9 years now, replacing two year old wet cell 8D's. Price were comparable.
Andy G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 04:31 AM   #22
Dauntless Award

City: Wrangell, Alaska
Vessel Name: Dauntless
Vessel Model: Kadey Krogen 42 - 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Molly View Post
I've been boating for over 30 years. Ronaldous Maximous was president!
Anyway, I've always been into routine maintenance. I believe, it's better to do a little work now and spend a little money now vs. a bunch later.
I just took possession of my boat in May of this year. I did check the oil once a week, at least every 2 weeks. Never checked the water in the batteries. The previous owner stayed plugged in, a sure sign that the batteries need topping off on occasion. Hauled the boat for painting and such last week. Just got around to checking the water in the batteries. Way low! The cells were exposed. Now I have 2, very expensive 8D's that ran for an undetermined amount of time with the cells exposed. I can see batteries in my future. For a 15 minute job to check the water, it's going to cost me big time. Maybe they were already toasted? At least I would have had a shot.
That's a 1 time per month thing for me, usually. It certainly will be from now on!
Whatever state the batteries are in, it did not happen in the last two months.

Fill them up, charge and hope for the best.

a Kadey Krogen 42 currently: https://share.garmin.com/dauntless
Blog:
https://dauntlessatsea.com
Wxx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 04:34 AM   #23
Dauntless Award

City: Wrangell, Alaska
Vessel Name: Dauntless
Vessel Model: Kadey Krogen 42 - 148
Firefly Batteries

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miz Trom View Post
Hi Molly:

Who are you having paint your boat down there in Punta Gorda?