Old 08-01-2017, 12:01 PM   #1

City: Oyster Bay
Vessel Name: BabaNanu
Vessel Model: Hunter Legend 37.6
Moving from sailboat to Trawler

Dear All:
My name is Jim and I have been sailing for about 40 years. However, I plan to retire soon (my partner is already retired) and sailing is becoming too strenuous for me, as I have multiple back issues. I plan to switch to a trawler, as I do not have a desire to spend a fortune on fuel and I enjoy the comfort a trawler can provide Most likely between 31' to 34' ( max 36'). I plan to purchase a slightly used boat but may consider a new boat (I like to new 31' Ranger). I plan on using the boat as a retirement home and taking it from New York to Florida during the winter for a month or so (visiting many friends who have purchased homes in Florida). Therefore, I am interested in those boaters who have either Ranger 31' or Nordic tugs 34' for their reasons why you choose the particular boat you now own. And, your positive and negatives about your experiences with your trawler/tug. Thank you for your input. It's a difficult decision giving up my sailboat (38').
In addition, I plan to attend Trawlerfest this September 2017 in Maryland. Has anyone ever attending the seminars? Especially the boat handling seminar.

jgriff375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 12:04 PM   #2
Guru

City: Quebec
Vessel Name: Bleuvet
Vessel Model: Custom Built
Welcome aboard!

Lou_tribal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 12:16 PM   #3
Guru

We moved from a 38' sailboat to a slightly larger Trawler this year.
We went slightly larger than you are considering but we each love our new boat!
It is simply amazing how much more living space there is in what is essentially a 1 foot longer boat.