Old 08-16-2019, 10:05 AM   #1
Guru

City: Owings, Md
Vessel Name: Graceland
Vessel Model: Mainship 34 MK1
Mooch Take 2

I'm looking forward to becoming a boat mooch once again. After close to 4 years of use and upgrades to my Parents' mainship 34 mkIII, the boat was sold in July, turning my attention back to my own little bowrider for day trips and saying goodbye to multi-day cruises on the Bay.

I've enjoyed this forum for about 4 years now, came on here primarily to learn about shopping for trawlers and configuring best practices for configuring electrical and mechanical systems. My father bought the Mainship in good shape but sparsely equipped. The boat had been used for day trips and we planned to use it short cruises and summertime relaxation which really drove the desire for a generator. Our family has owned and maintained runabouts, sailboats and fishing boats for years but this boat was a significant step up in size and commitment. I'm a mechanical engineer, US Sailing keelboat, cruising & bareboat instructor and my father and I both have extensive auto repair and fiberglass repair/fabrication experience but the tips and experience I learned here about what works for different styles of cruising/budgets and vessels has been of great value. It was a great boat, was cruised throughout the Chesapeake by both it's owners and my own young family of 5. It also served as a great fishing platform, hosting our annual spring fishing trip yielding a few trophies. It was an excellent head sea boat and the Perkins diesel always ran like a top. Like many on this site, the old 34' mainship served as an excellent entry platform and offered incredible value. We successfully self-installed a new diesel generator, replaced the missing auto pilot, re-bedded or replaced every hull fitting, re-cored the swim platform and redid the barrier coat. Fortunately this boat did not have any deck delamination issues that so many of the neglected ones have. In a rare stroke of luck and sma