Old 09-28-2016, 08:47 AM   #1

City: Kirkland
Layout question

More and more people are telling me that I am over my head, when I am looking for a larger boat to have a comfortable live-aboard layout. As a newbie, I am bitten by the large boat ' bug ', but it is changing. Many of the boats I looked were in the 50-55' range. Since my budget is tight, this results only very old, or very 'needy' boats. Reading the forum, I learn that smaller is better, when it comes to boats. OK, so I accept it. I do agree, the newer boat I can buy, the less headache I would possibly inherit. So, the latest direction is to find a boat with a strait layout inside. What I mean is, to have the salon, galley, settee, even the staterooms, at the same level. I am reading Mr. Pascoe's books now and at one his surveys he also burst out that the going up and down layouts are frustrating and he also prefers strait walkthrough arrangements. I tend to agree with him. My reasoning is, if the layout is strait, it looks more spacious, so a smaller size boat can be accommodating enough for live-aboard, even if the space has a tight feeling. Am I going wrong about this? Educate me, please! lol
utazo89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 08:58 AM   #2
Guru

City: Stuart FL
Vessel Name: Lucky Lucky
Vessel Model: Pacific Mariner 65
Pascoe's opinion on layout is simply his opinion. I can't think of anything in boat selection more personal than the interior layout. When you step aboard the boat with the right layout for you, you will know it. More importantly is how the SO likes it. When you do find the right boat, we can discuss the anchor since there is only one good one.
hmason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 09:20 AM   #3
Guru

City: Owings, Md
Vessel Name: Graceland
Vessel Model: Mainship 34 MK1